The Louisiana Emergency Rental Assistance Program provides emergency rental and utility assistance to Louisiana residents who are at risk of experiencing homelessness or housing instability, as well as landlords struggling to collect rent due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Eligible uses of program funding are as follows:
Past-due rent dating back to as early as April 1, 2020
Forward rent paid in increments of up to three months
Past-due and current bills, plus some penalty fees
Who Can Apply?
A renter may be eligible for rental assistance under the program if the following requirements are met:
Lives in a rental property in one of 57 parishes covered by the program
At least one individual in the household qualified for unemployment benefits or experienced a reduction in household income, incurred significant costs or experienced other financial hardship due directly or indirectly to COVID-19
Has received a past due rent notice, past due utility notice, or an eviction notice or is experiencing housing instability
Household income does not exceed 80% of area median income limit (AMI)
Renters should review the Renter Application Checklist before applying.
Program payments cannot exceed 120% Fair Market Rent (FMR) values for your parish. To learn more, click here.
A landlord may also apply on behalf of their tenants and will be required to accept the following conditions to receive payment under the program:
Will not evict the tenant for past due rent prior to April 2020
Will not evict a tenant for at least 60 days after assistance ends unless eviction is for cause. Under the ERAP Program, “for cause” shall not include the following eviction filings: “owner wants possession,” “non-renewal of lease” or “non-payment of rent.” This clause does not preclude the landlord from seeking eviction for lease violations and/or for tenants who violate the health, safety and/or peaceable enjoyment of the property
Forgive all penalties, interest and court costs related to rent incurred between April 2020 and date of remittance of program rental assistance. The program will cover late fees up to $100 per month, as prescribed within current lease terms. Participating landlords will be required to forgive any late fees that exceed the $100 per month allowance
Landlords should review the Landlord Application Checklist before applying.
To apply by phone, call 877.459.6555, between 8 .a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.